DON KETCHUM is a native of Phoenix. He was a sportswriter for The Arizona Republic/The Phoenix Gazette for nearly four decades. He covered high school sports on several occasions as well as the Arizona Diamondbacks, Arizona Cardinals and Arizona State sports. From 2008-14, he was a staff writer for, the web site of the Arizona Interscholastic Association.

Friday, April 19, 2019

Gators get No. 1 seed in beach volleyball

Numero uno. You can’t get much better than that.

A No. 1 seeding in the state tournament, puts you in a position to run the table, and that is what Xavier Prep would like to do, starting on Tuesday (April 23) as the top Division I beach volleyball seed as the Arizona Interscholastic Association released its tournament brackets for divisions I and II on Friday (April 19).

Xavier, which won the state championship in the first six years of the sport in Arizona before falling in the early rounds last season, has an 11-0 record and will host the 16th-seeded team, Scottsdale Chaparral, at the Cavanaugh Courts.

Xavier defeated Chaparral 4-1 in Scottsdale on March 22.

If the Gators win again in the first round of the single-elimination tournament, they would host a quarterfinal match on Wednesday (April 24) against the winner of a first-round match between No. 9 Buckeye Verrado and No. 8 Queen Creek Casteel at Casteel. The state semifinals and finals also will be at Casteel.

Including Chaparral, Xavier has defeated seven of the tournament’s 16 teams.

Division I beach volleyball state tournament bracket

First round, April 23 – All matches at 4:30 p.m.

(Seedings in parentheses)

Scottsdale Chaparral (16) at Xavier Prep (1), Buckeye Verrado (9) at Queen Creek Casteel (8), Phoenix Desert Vista (12) at Goodyear Millennium (5), Chandler Hamilton (13) at Phoenix Sandra Day O’Connor (4), Phoenix Mountain Pointe (14) at Tempe Corona del Sol (3), Glendale Deer Valley (11) at Phoenix Sunnyslope (6), Oro Valley Ironwood Ridge (10) at Anthem Boulder Creek (7), Gilbert High (15) at Gilbert Perry (2).

Quarterfinals, April 24 – All matches at 4:30 p.m.

(Matches at higher seed)

Chaparral-Xavier Prep winner vs. Verrado-Casteel winner, Desert Vista-Millennium winner vs. Hamilton-Sandra Day O’Connor winner, Mountain Pointe-Corona del Sol winner vs. Deer Valley-Sunnyslope winner, Ironwood Ridge-Boulder Creek winner vs. Gilbert High-Perry winner.

Semifinals, April 30 at Queen Creek Casteel – Both matches at 7 p.m.

Finals, May 2 at Casteel --  7 p.m.

No comments:

Post a Comment